Number one.

14 Jan

It’s my first post! I honestly never thought I’d see this day. For years now I have been saying how I want to start a blog but never thought I had the time to. I kept putting it off and it just stayed an idea in my head. But thanks to a new year, I made it one of my resolutions. So here I am starting a blog. FINALLY.

Random fact about me: I am naturally a very high stressed person (which I absolutely hate and have paid the price for) but one of the ways I am able to relax and find relief is through baking. It allows me to unwind and takes me away from every day life for a while. I’m sure many of you bakers out there can relate.

For my first post I thought I would just share random facts/photos about my lovely life that I have been beyond blessed with.

I know everyone says it, but I truly believe that I have the best family out there. I have never doubted whether my parents love me or not. They show me love every single day by how present they are in my life. My sisters are my best friends and I spend more time with them than anyone else. And I won’t forget my 15-year-old maltese named Sam who has been apart of our family for most of my life. He helps my dad balance out the crazy hormones in our house (which I think he really appreciates :))

IMG_0494

IMG_1015

Over the past 3 years I have spent a lot of my time at Vision Photography. I just happened to know the owner (because I was a nanny for his kids for 2 years) and he offered me a job! I’m not joking when I say that I love my job. I work during their busy season when high schoolers come in to take their senior pictures and also when families come in to take pictures (from May to January). I put people’s orders together, frame and answer phones to book sessions. It can get pretty crazy around there and I come home exhausted, but I work with some pretty amazing people which keeps me going back every single day. We just recently moved into a new studio, which is so classy and beautiful that sometimes I’m shocked that I get to work there. I hope to work there for a long time unless God has a different plan for my life!

3F0I7866new

IMG_2612

IMG_3020

Vision030NEW

I am just finishing up my internship at BYOU Magazine. BYOU is a girl’s magazine ages 8 to 14. It focuses on self-esteem and inner beauty. In middle school and high school I struggled a lot with bullying and being made fun of because of my height. It took me a long time to realize that it didn’t matter how tall I was but how good my heart was. So right away I knew I had to do this internship and it has been such a good experience. I did research projects, attended events and was published in three issues! It has been great getting experience outside of the classroom.

576861_279720938796227_878806920_n

On December 16, 2012 I graduated from Metro State University of Denver. It was a huge accomplishment for me because it was something that always felt so far away. I majored in Magazine Journalism and minored in Nutrition. I’m so relieved/excited to be done but now I’m in that stage where I’m trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life. It’s a little nerve-racking, but I’m looking forward to the things that open up for me.

IMG_4545

Here are some other random facts about me:

-I nanny a lot and find so much joy being around kids.

-I played basketball for 12 years. I played competitively and received many awards/broke a lot of records in high school. I also got a full ride scholarship my first year in college. I miss playing a lot.

-I love health and nutrition. Because I played basketball my whole life, my body is used to working out. If I don’t exercise I don’t feel good. I’ve also had a lot of stomach problems so that forces me to eat healthy. It’s my life to workout and eat healthy- what a pitty huh? πŸ˜‰

-Even though I eat healthy, I love my sweets! Hence this blog. I’ve just learned that moderation is key and if I exercise I don’t feel guilty about eating a cupcake.

-I love Jesus Christ. He is the reason that I live. I’ve realized over the last couple of years that He is the only one who truly knows every single thing that I am going through and loves me more than anyone on this earth ever will. To me nothing else matters in this life except honoring him through the way I live my life.

-I love design. I took 3 classes while in college and I was shocked to find that I enjoyed it so much because I don’t consider myself artsy at all. I hope to eventually find a career in design. Designing magazine covers would be my dream.

I could keep going with this list but it’s getting too long. So there you go. That’s a little about me.

If you have any questions about me don’t hesitate to ask!

My first post is complete-thanks for reading.

Love, Lindsi

5 Responses to “Number one.”

  1. saramarielouise January 14, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Yea Linds! πŸ™‚ Excited to read your blog!!

  2. Amanda @ Once Upon a Recipe January 17, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

    Hi Lindsi, what a great first post! I completely agree with you about the calming nature of baking – it’s one of my favorite things to do to unwind after a really stressful day. Eating a sweet treat at the end of it all is definitely a bonus too. Best wishes with this little space of yours!

  3. Lindsay January 26, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    LOVE!!!!! I’ll be an avid reader πŸ™‚ xo

  4. brittany brennan January 26, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

    You did it!!!!! Yay- we can be blog buddies now. Congrats Lindsi, can’t wait to read your posts

  5. Byn February 18, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    hey lindsi! just popping in to say hi after amanda shared your link on once upon a recipe! your blog is super cute and chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake bars were one of my first posts as well when i started my blog back in 2010! excited to see what you have in store!

Leave a Reply

Once Upon a Recipe

Food is love. Share it.

the days of my life.

giving creepers something to read since 2008!

