Coffee Cake

22 Feb

So I am sad to say that I had my first fail attempt at a new baking recipe.

This summer one of our interns made this amazing vegan zucchini bread for our end of summer party. It was so good that I asked for the recipe and finally made it a few nights ago. I am still trying to figure out what I did wrong because the consistency was off. Very oily, not bread-like at all, almost like an undercooked brownie.

In the mean time while I try it again, I’m going to share my favorite coffee cake recipe with you all. My mom has made this recipe ever since I can remember. I could literally eat it every day and not get sick of it. It is very similar to the taste of a cinnamon roll except it is more airy and fluffy.

IMG_1462

INGREDIENTS for dough:

1 cup sugar

3 eggs

1/2 cup softened butter

1 cup sour cream

1 tsp. vanilla

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

INGREDIENTS for filling:

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 Tbsp flour

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 cup nuts (pecans or walnuts)

2 Tbsp cold butter

Directions:

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a large bowl make the dough mixture. Beat the sugar, eggs and butter until combined. Add in the sour cream and vanilla and beat again. Add the dry ingredients (flour and soda) and stir until dough forms.

3. In another bowl make the filling mixture. Stir the brown sugar, flour, cinnamon and nuts. Cut in the cold butter with a pastry cutter or you can use your fingers and press it together until it’s a crumbly consistency.

4. Spread half of the dough mixture on the bottom of a 9×13 greased pan. Top this dough with half of the filling mixture. Then repeat by adding the remaining dough and remaining filling on top of the first layer.

It should look somewhat like this before putting it into the oven. NOTE: It will look very low in the pan, it is supposed to look like this. It will rise a lot while baking.

IMG_1448

5. Bake between 25 and 35 minutes until it looks golden brown.

IMG_1451

6. The glaze used for my Simple Cinnamon Rolls is the same glaze I use for this coffee cake. Drizzle over the cake while it is still warm.

7. Serve right away. This cake also keeps for a few days in the fridge. It’s just as good warmed up in the microwave for a few seconds.

IMG_1457

IMG_1475

IMG_1478

Enjoy!

Love, Lindsi

3 Responses to “Coffee Cake”

  1. courtneyscraftinandcookin February 22, 2013 at 4:29 am #

    This looks so yummy! I cannot wait to see the recipe for the bread either! I am sure you will figure out what went wrong

  2. onceuponarecipe February 22, 2013 at 6:52 am #

    I LOVE coffee cake – this one looks so simple and so delicious! Love the addition of the glaze too!

  3. mydearbakes February 22, 2013 at 7:32 am #

    What a great post! This looks so lovely! =)

Leave a Reply

Once Upon a Recipe

Food is love. Share it.

the days of my life.

giving creepers something to read since 2008!

