Raspberry White Chocolate Scones

29 Mar

I would like to apologize for my lack of blog posts! The last two weeks have been absolutely insane for me. I had an interview for a job, got hired, and started training all within a week. Fastest experience of my life, but it has all been such a blessing. I’m still trying to wrap my mind around it.

Sadly, because of the recent craziness my baking has taken a back seat. Monday was one of my first days off so baking was a must. A few weeks ago my sister and I went to Caribou (which was my first time, so good!) and we had a raspberry white chocolate scone. It was one of the best scones I have ever tasted so my first thought was, I need to make these!

So here they are. Not the Caribou recipe sadly, but they are still delicious. When you bite into them, at first you get that tart flavor from the raspberries and then the sweetness kicks in from the white chocolate chips. A perfect combo.

IMG_1946

IMG_1945

 from: Pastry Affair

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons granulated sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons butter, cut into small pieces
6 ounces raspberries (fresh or frozen)
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup heavy cream (I used milk)

 IMG_1893

IMG_1898

IMG_1902

IMG_1910

IMG_1916

IMG_1932

DIRECTIONS:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2) In a large mixing bowl whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Cut in butter with pastry blender (or your hands) until mixture feels like sand. Gently fold in raspberries and white chocolate chips. (I used frozen raspberries and they got pretty mushy once they started defrosting and turned my batter a little purple. I suggest using fresh instead of frozen.)

3) In a small bowl beat together egg, vanilla, and heavy cream. Pour over the scone batter and lightly mix until the dough comes together. The dough will be sticky.

4) Roll or press out dough on a lightly floured surface into a circle. Flatten until it is about 1-inch thick. Using a sharp knife dipped in flour, cut 8 wedges (scones may be a little flimsy but will bake just fine!) Transfer scones to a baking sheet using a flat spatula dipped in flour and sprinkle the tops of the scones with a little granulated sugar.

5) Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until lightly browned.

IMG_1949

Enjoy!

xoxo. Lindsi.

One Response to “Raspberry White Chocolate Scones”

  1. Amanda @ Once Upon a Recipe April 8, 2013 at 4:18 am #

    I love the raspberry and white chocolate combination. And they look pretty too!

Leave a Reply

Once Upon a Recipe

Food is love. Share it.

the days of my life.

giving creepers something to read since 2008!

