Mini Lemon Cheesecakes

18 Apr

My family celebrated my beautiful mom’s birthday on Monday. Sometimes I don’t feel like I can thank God enough for my mom, it overwhelms me that He allowed me to be her daughter. I wish I could repay her for the wonderful, loving life she has given me.

Sorry, the sappiness is over! I just adore that lady. She’s obsessed with anything and everything lemon related, especially food. I found this recipe out of a baking book my good friend gave me for my birthday. Right aways I knew I had to make it for my mom’s birthday. So that’s what I did. She was shocked when she came home from work and I had these little guys waiting for her on the counter.

They are fast, easy and insanely delicious. Yep.

IMG_2082INGREDIENTS

5 tbsp melted butter

1 cup graham crackers, crushed

1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar

10 ounces softened cream cheese

2 large eggs

1 large, finely graded, lemon rind

3 tsp lemon juice

1/2 cup sour cream

4 tbsp flour

1 small lemon, sliced, for decorating

IMG_2102

IMG_2106

DIRECTIONS

1) Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Line a 12-hole muffin pan with liners.

2) Stir together the melted butter, crushed graham crackers and 1 tbsp sugar. Divide the cracker mixture among the paper liners and press down firmly with your fingers or the back of a teaspoon. Chill in the fridge.

3) Beat the sugar, cream cheese and eggs in a bowl until smooth. Add the graded lemon rind, juice and sour cream together until just combined. (Add more lemon juice if you want a very lemony taste, I thought it could have used a little more).

4) Finally add the flour. Spoon the batter into the paper liners (fill almost to the top because cheesecake doesn’t rise like cupcakes do).

5) Bake for 25 minutes or until set but NOT browned. Let the cheesecakes cool for 20 minutes. Once the cheesecakes are cold, chill in the fridge for at least 3 hours.

6) When ready to eat, decorate with a slice or two of lemon.

IMG_2076

Happy Birthday momma.

IMG_2119

Enjoy. xoxo. Lindsi.

2 Responses to “Mini Lemon Cheesecakes”

  1. tamikadoubell April 18, 2013 at 8:14 am #

    Oh my word!!! these are just to die for!!! how delish, she must have loved them !! and WOW your mom is absolutely gorgeous!!!! Nice idea and thank you for this recipe!!! hehehehe …. love your blog, pls do visit mine at http://www.tamikadoubell.com 🙂 xxx

  2. Rosie @ Blueberry Kitchen April 22, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    Your writing about your mom is so sweet and your lemon cheesecakes look like such a nice birthday treat!

Leave a Reply

Once Upon a Recipe

Food is love. Share it.

the days of my life.

giving creepers something to read since 2008!

