Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins with Cinnamon Streusel

14 May

Bananas are my favorite fruit. It’s rare if I go a day without eating one. Because I keep a constant stock in the house, once in awhile they tend to get too ripe. And because I refuse to throw bananas away, I am constantly making banana bread. However, last week I decided I was over making the same old banana bread so I found this delicious recipe off of a blog that I follow. I love trying new recipes especially when they combine some of my favorite ingredients (I also have an obsession with chocolate chips, always have).

These muffins are pretty simple to make, I promise that you will not be disappointed once you bite into one of these little guys.

IMG_2492

Recipe from: Sally’s Baking Addiction

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

3/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup sugar

6 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened

1 large egg

3 large ripe bananas

3 Tbsp yogurt (I used vanilla greek yogurt)

_________________

STREUSEL INGREDIENTS:

1 Tbsp cinnamon

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (I did a 1/4 cup of each)

IMG_2468

IMG_2474

DIRECTIONS: 

1) Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. Line muffin tin with baking cups.

2) First make the streusel by combining all ingredients in a small bowl. Set aside.

3) In a medium bowl, gently toss together the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside. In a separate bowl, beat the sugar, butter and egg until fluffy. On low speed, beat in the mashed bananas and yogurt. By hand, stir in the dry ingredients mixing until everything is just combined. Do NOT over mix.

4) Layer one spoonful of batter into the muffin cup. Sprinkle with streusel. Layer another spoonful on top and layer with more streusel. Do the same in each muffin cup.

5) Bake muffins for 5 minutes at 425 degrees. Lower temperature down to 350 degrees and continue to bake for another 8-10 minutes (the original recipe says to bake for an additional 14 minutes but mine were done a lot quicker) or until the muffins are set and lightly browned. Allow to cool for 5 minutes in the tins and transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

IMG_2508

IMG_2494

IMG_2502

Enjoy!

I hope you are all enjoying this beautiful weather. It’s about time.

Love.Lindsi.

IMG_2512 2

2 Responses to “Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins with Cinnamon Streusel”

  1. Rosie @ Blueberry Kitchen May 25, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    Banana and choc chips are one of my favourite combinations, I love that these have a streusel topping too – they look so yummy!

  2. Amanda @ Once Upon a Recipe May 31, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

    There is nothing like a good streusel atop a delicious muffin. Yum!

Leave a Reply

Once Upon a Recipe

Food is love. Share it.

the days of my life.

giving creepers something to read since 2008!

