Fruit Pizza (I’m Back!)

10 Jun

Hi everyone. I feel like I need to reintroduce myself after neglecting my blog for weeks now. Over the past month I have been in the process of moving and it’s been a crazy ride. But…I am finally all moved in! I want to share the whole experience with you so when I get a minute (and take some more pictures), I will post about it.

With that explained, I want to share this recipe with you. For memorial day, a bunch of my family got together (including my aunt and uncle who are missionaries in Taiwan) at my parents house for a bar-b-que. Right away I suggested that my mom and I make fruit pizza. It’s a perfect summer dessert and its red, white and blue (oh so patriotic). Not to mention a KNOCK-OUT in flavor. Most of the recipes I have posted are quicker/easier recipes but this has to top them all so far. All you have to do is bake a giant cookie, frost it and top it with fruit. Done. A basic, delicious dessert that feeds a good amount of people.

IMG_7123

INGREDIENTS FOR COOKIE:

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1 1/4 cup flour

1 tsp cream of tartar

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

INGREDIENTS FOR FROSTING:

1 (8oz) package cream cheese (softened)

1 (8oz) conatiner cool whip (thawed)

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla

IMG_7116

DIRECTIONS:

1) Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

2) In medium size bowl, mix together the butter and 3/4 cup sugar until smooth.  Add the egg and mix. Slowly mix in the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt. Press dough into an ungreased pizza pan (I used a round stone). TIP: Do not press the dough all the way to the edge, stop about 1 inch from the end because dough will expand.

3) Bake in preheated oven for 8 to 10 minutes, or until lightly browned. Set aside to cool.

4) In a separate bowl, beat the cream cheese with 1/2 cup sugar and vanilla. Spread on to the cooled crust.

5) Arrange desired fruit on top of filling, and chill. The more fruit the better. It may seem like you are putting a lot on but you’ll need it. (I sprinkled each fruit on seperately. Strawberries first, then blueberries, raspberries and finally the bananas).

IMG_7130

IMG_7134

The 4th of July is coming up, why not make fruit pizza? The perfect festive dessert.

Enjoy my friends.

Love. Lindsi.

2 Responses to “Fruit Pizza (I’m Back!)”

  1. courtneyscraftinandcookin June 10, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    I’m excited to see some of your new place, I bet it’s cute!!

  2. ctrachte June 14, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    I had some of the Fruit Pizza on Memorial Day and it was AMAZING!!!

Leave a Reply

Once Upon a Recipe

Food is love. Share it.

the days of my life.

giving creepers something to read since 2008!

