Chocolate Mug Cake

10 Jul

Over the last couple of months I have been obsessing over these things called mug cakes. I tried one for the first time about a year ago and forgot about how good they were until I pulled out the recipe again. I constantly heard about them from pinterest. There is variation after variation of these things. You can make peanut butter mug cakes, nutella mug cakes, fruit mug cakes, coconut mug cakes…the list is seriously never ending. And that is why I love them, because you can pretty much put whatever the heck you want in them and they’ll be good. No joke.

I have tried a few variations of the different chocolate mug cakes because I am a chocolate girl. However, I need to branch out and try a totally different variation. And you will be the first to know when I do.

IMG_2545

Other reasons why I have been obsessing over these: number one, they are so simple to make. You bake them in the microwave, no oven needed. They take about two minutes to whip up and one minute to cook. Yes please!  Number two, it’s a single serving dessert. No need to bake a whole cake when after all, you’re only feeding yourself. I moved out about a month ago and this is the perfect thing to make when I am craving something sweet. They are also a fun thing to make with someone else.

I am going to share one of the chocolate mug cake variations that I have now had too many times to count. It has become a favorite of my sister and I.

So grab your favorite mug and get ready to have your taste buds rocked. There is no turning back.

IMG_2518

INGREDIENTS:

2 Tbsp egg (about half an egg)

3 Tbsp oil (I use canola)

3 Tbsp milk

3 Tbsp sugar

A splash of vanilla

3 Tbsp flour

2 Tbsp Coco Powder

1 or 2 Tbsp Chocolate Chips (I use semi sweet but milk is also good)

IMG_2521

DIRECTIONS:

1) Mix together the egg, oil, milk, sugar and vanilla.

2) Add flour, coco powder and chocolate chips. Stir until just combined.

3) Microwave for about 1 minute and 30 seconds. Add more time (about another 30 seconds) for more of a cake consistency and less time for more of brownie consistency.

3) Top with more chocolate chips and your ice cream of choice. (Or any other topping that you prefer. My favorite topping is Ghirardelli sea salt and almond dark chocolate).

IMG_2525

IMG_2539

IMG_2567

Enjoy my lovely friends.

xoxo. Lindsi

One Response to “Chocolate Mug Cake”

  1. Cindy July 26, 2013 at 1:57 am #

    I made the mug cakes tonight and both Larry and I Ioved them. So good and so easy to make. Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

Once Upon a Recipe

Food is love. Share it.

the days of my life.

giving creepers something to read since 2008!

