Almond Poppy Seed Bread

25 Aug

I love me some poppy seeds. Always have. Always will. I don’t know what it is about those darn things because they’re just little specks. But, specks packed with flavor. I have always been a sucker for the almond poppy seed muffins from King Soopers. I think they taste so good because they are so bad for you, but one here or there never hurt anyone.

For some reason the combination of poppy seeds and almond go really well together. Kind of like peanut butter and jelly, if you will. Delish.

So, I did some research and out of all the almond poppy seed breads out there, this one seemed the most appealing to me. Plus, it is lightened up a bit so I have no guilt what so ever eating it. That is the best kind of baking in my opinion.

IMG_2960

If you haven’t noticed already I am all about easy baking. Don’t get me wrong, I love a challenge once in awhile, but overall I like easy. This bread falls into that category. It is definitely a quick bread. I need to branch out and make a bread that needs to rise and takes more than an hour to make. Soon to come!

IMG_2953

Recipe adapted from The Kitchen Sink

INGREDIENTS:

3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
3 egg whites
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons buttermilk
3/4 cup sour cream
1 tablespoon almond extract
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoon poppy seeds

1/4 cup sliced almonds

IMG_2988

DIRECTIONS:

1) Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Grease loaf pan (I used three 6×3 pans. You can also use one 9×5 pan baking time will just change.)

2) With a mixer, beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the egg whites, buttermilk, sour cream and almond extract and beat until just combined.

3) In a separate medium-sized bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add this dry mixture to the wet mixture and stir. When the mixture is almost combined, add the poppy seeds. Beat until the wet and dry ingredients have just combined and the poppy seeds are distributed throughout the batter.

4) Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan(s). Top with the sliced almonds.

5) If using small pans, bake for 30-35 minutes. If using one large pan, bake for 60 to 65 minutes.

These loaves won’t brown as much as other breads, they come out pretty white in color. Make sure you use a toothpick to check the middle to see if done.

IMG_3005

The best part about this bread is that it is perfect at any time during the day. It’s wonderful in the morning dipped in coffee, as a side for lunch or dinner, or even for a snack or for dessert. Drizzle some honey on top- you can thank me later for that recommendation.

IMG_2959

Enjoy my friends.

Love, Lindsi

Leave a Reply

Once Upon a Recipe

Food is love. Share it.

the days of my life.

giving creepers something to read since 2008!

