THE BEST BLUEBERRY MUFFINS

4 Sep

Most of my favorite baking recipes seem to come from someone in my family, mostly from my mom or my mom’s mom.  Recipes that I grew up with. Not only are they delicious, but they instantly make me flash back to certain parts of growing up. I had an incredible childhood (thanks to my parents) and this is a big part of why I enjoy baking, the memories instantly flood back. What is it about flavors, smells and sounds that make you flash back to a time that was wonderful and you would give anything to go back or a time that you rather die than go back to it? Life is a constant trigger of some past experience.

My mom has made these muffins for as long as I can remember. There is something about baked blueberries that spikes the taste. Instant yum. I have had countless blueberry muffins and these by far outweigh every single one. The trick: you combine mashed blueberries and whole blueberries. It changes the flavor, I swear.

Here are a few pictures from our last encounter, this past Monday for Labor Day. I don’t know if you’re like me, but I always use holidays as an excuse to bake.

IMG_3131 2

The first thing I do is measure out 1/2 cup of blueberries and mash them with a fork. It’s nice to have this done so you can just throw it into the batter once you’re ready for it. (It’s also a good way to take out some frustration, if need be).

IMG_3027

(hand model: my lovely sister, Lauren)

IMG_3039

IMG_3058

INGREDIENTS:

1 stick butter (room temperature)

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 cups blueberries (1/2 cup mashed with a fork)

2 cups flour

1/2 cup milk

TOPPING:

1 Tablespoon sugar mixed with 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

IMG_3075

IMG_3101

DIRECTIONS:

1) Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Grease muffin cups or use liners. (I did 6 jumbo size muffins and 6 regular size muffins. You can also do 12 regular size muffins)

2) In a medium size bowl, beat butter until creamy. Next beat in the sugar until pale and fluffy.

3) Beat in eggs one at a time. Add vanilla, baking powder, and salt. Beat one last time until combine.

4) Mix mashed blueberries into the batter.

5) Fold in half the flour and then half the milk. Add remaining flour and milk. Fold in remaining blueberries

6) Scoop batter into muffin cups (about 2/3 full). Sprinkle with nutmeg sugar.

7) Bake 25 to 30 minutes, or until golden brown.

8) Allow the muffins to cool in the pan for at least 30 minutes before removing.

IMG_3177

IMG_3174

IMG_3188

Grab your kids, friends, family (if you got ’em), or shoot just grab yourself and start baking. You will instantly start making memories of your own. And I promise, you will never regret it. I will leave you with that simple piece of advice.

Love, Lindsi

One Response to “THE BEST BLUEBERRY MUFFINS”

  1. Amanda @ Once Upon a Recipe September 18, 2013 at 12:21 am #

    These look so good – I love the trick of mashing some of the blueberries!

Leave a Reply

Once Upon a Recipe

Food is love. Share it.

the days of my life.

giving creepers something to read since 2008!

