Banana Bread

9 Apr

I have loved banana bread ever since I was little. I am a carb girl; I love my bread, any and every type. But for some strange reason my oven does NOT like cooking bread, especially sweet breads. My banana bread always seems to come out really overdone around the edges and doughy in the middle. Super annoying.

I came across this Martha Stewart recipe last year and fell in love with it. It tastes better and even cooks pretty well in my poor little oven. I think it’s the sour cream addition and the thickness of the dough that makes it so yummy.

Try it now, I promise it will not disappoint.

IMG_2038

Recipe From Martha Stewart

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, at room temperature, plus more for pan

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

3 very ripe bananas (mashed or cut up)

1/2 cup sour cream

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

IMG_2024

IMG_2027

DIRECTIONS:

1) Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour a 9×5 pan. (I used three 3×5 pans).

2) Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla and mix well.

3) In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt. Add to the butter mixture and mix until just combine.

4) Add bananas, sour cream and nuts and stir.

5) Pour into your prepared pan and bake for about an hour for a 9×5 pan. (If using smaller pans bake for 25-30 minutes)

IMG_2051

IMG_2046

Enjoy. Love, Lindsi.

4 Responses to “Banana Bread”

  1. ctrachte April 9, 2013 at 3:46 am #

    Looks amazing.

  2. Amanda @ Once Upon a Recipe April 10, 2013 at 6:27 am #

    Nothing like homemade banana bread – yum!

  3. ashley - baker by nature April 11, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

    mmmmm, I love banana bread too! Every loaf is so unique and wonderful in it’s own way 🙂

  4. Rosie @ Blueberry Kitchen April 11, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Your banana bread looks delicious!

Leave a comment

Once Upon a Recipe

Food is love. Share it.

the days of my life.

giving creepers something to read since 2008!